One team, one dream

Power partnerships create value for South Africa’s youth through Ride for MRP Foundation
Power partnerships create value for South Africa’s youth through Ride for MRP Foundation

RIDE PARTNERSHIPS: (From left to right) Duncan Albers (Cyclesphere), Stefan Terblanche (CEO SA Rugby Legends), Greg Kemp (Giant Bicycles), and SA Rugby Legends John Smit and Wayne Fyvie. PICTURE: PIERRE TOSTEE / MRP FOUNDATION


The Ride for MRP Foundation, a 606 km cycle ride from Secunda to Durban on December 2 and 3, isn’t only uniting 70 cyclists committed to the cause of raising funds and awareness for MRP Foundation, but also fifteen passionate partners who all add significant value to the ride with purpose.

“The Ride for MRP Foundation is true partnership in action,” said Head of MRP Foundation, Karen Wells. “Our 15 Ride for MRP Foundation partners all share our vision and purpose to unlock potential in South Africa’s youth and it’s the single reason our ride continues to grow from strength to strength. And through these powerful partnerships we can make an even bigger impact on the youth of our country through our education and skills development programmes.”

This year SA Rugby Legends have partnered with the Ride for MRP Foundation after Springboks John Smit, Wayne Fyvie and Jeremy Thompson participated in the ride last year. The Springbok rugby trio surprised cyclists and fans alike by enduring the challenging ride.

Stefan Terblanche, CEO of SA Rugby Legends, is excited about the new ride partnership and now looking forward to tackling the challenge with former teammate and Sharks Captain Wayne Fyvie.

“SA Rugby Legends have always used the power of sport to improve the lives of thousands of young kids all over South Africa and all over the world,” said Terblanche. “It’s great to share our vision and dreams with like-minded people, like MRP Foundation, and to make a contribution in a small way to what they are trying to achieve. To suffer for 606 km over two days on a bike while having fun is a great way for us to help raise funds and awareness for the Foundation.”

Greg Albert, owner of Cyclesphere bicycle shop, is partnering with the ride for the third year and will provide mechanical support for the riders, fixing punctures and any other mishaps for the cyclists enroute from Secunda to Durban.

“Cyclesphere feels the need to support local events to see the sport of cycling grow,” said Alberts who is also a former SA velodrome champion  “What is special about the Ride for MRP Foundation is that it’s for such a great cause. Cyclesphere is all about the passion for cycling and to be involved with the MRP Foundation and the partners who have such a passion to make a difference is a great honour.”

Last year’s Ride for MRP Foundation raised just under the R1 million target with R978,000.00 being raised. This year’s target is to exceed R1 million.

The 2018 Ride for MRP Foundation partners are: Absa, CMH Nissan Durban, SPAR, Maxed, Expand-a-Sign, City Logistics, Zapper, Trader Plus, Corruseal, KTM, Westville Cycle Club, Giant, Cyclesphere, SA Rugby Legends and Hirt and Carter.

How to enter the win-a-car competition

This competition is now closed.

Terms and Conditions apply.

Jersey classifications:
Red Jersey – Absa Red Jersey for cyclist who has raised most funds from previous ride
Yellow – Riders who have completed the most number of rides
Green – Five rides or more
Pink – Three or four rides
White – Rookies, first and second rides

Yellow Jersey: Leon Crous (Ruimsig, 7)
Pink Jersey: Nigel Payne (Sandton, 3), Nolan Waldhausen (Parkhurst, 3), August Van Heerden (Bryanston, 2), Geoffrey Lee (Parkwood, 2)
White Jersey: Matthew Lee (Lonehill, 1), Mike de St. Pern (Pretoria, 0), Shaun Ellis (Johannesburg, 0)

Yellow Jersey: Dave Duke (Kloof, 7)
Green Jersey: Keagan Matthews (Hillcrest Park, 6), Michael Viljoen (Morningside, 5), Greg Stedman (Kloof, 4), Michael Rowland (Hillcrest, 4), John Campbell (Hillcrest, 4), Jonathan Morse (Ballito, 4)
Pink Jersey: Bruce McDonald (Hillcrest, 3), Randy Walker (Treasure Beach, 3), Travis Stedman (Kloof, 3), Rob Alexander (Pietermaritzburg, 2), Quintus van der Berg (Umhlanga Rocks, 2), Dylan Cherry (Kloof, 2), Wayne Englund (Kloof, 3), Paul Kraus (Hillcrest, 2)
White Jersey: Tiffany Keep (Gillitts, 1), Andrew Bateson (Ballito, 1), Mboneni Ngcobo (Cato Ridge, 1), Mark Sterley (Durban North, 1), Matthew Wickham (Kloof, 1), Mhlengi Gwala (Chesterville, 1), Paul Mindry (Gillitts, 0), Glynis Pretorius (Hillcrest, 0), Shan Thomson (La Lucia, 0), Chloe Bateson (Ballito, 0), Lindokuhle (Linda) Mabika (Glenwood, 0), Shane Poplett (Westville, 0), Zisandele Mkhize (Durban, 0), Ray Whitmore (Hillcrest, 0), Rael Lurie (Cowies Hill, 0), Derrick Tivers (Ashley, 0), Stuart Bird (Assagay, 0), Arn de Haas (Glenwood), Paul Els (Kloof, 0), Wayne Fyvie (Assagay, 1), Mitchel Potgieter (Durban, 1), Iris Varty (Hillcrest, 0), Richard Critchlow (Glen Anil, 0), Warren Moolman (Westville, 0), Stuart Slater (Mount Edgecombe, 0), Roxann Message (Glenashley, 0), Rozanne Geldenhuys (Umhlanga, 0), Lauren Snell (Hillcrest, 0), Martin Hillerman (Hillcrest, 0), Kara Human (Durban North, 0), Mehul Mehta (Westville, 0), Vassos Criticos (Congella, 0), Brett Pollock (Everton, 0), Michael Cannon (Mount Edgecombe, 0), Wadih El Saadi (Durban, 0), Darrell Yeatman (Forest Hills, 0), Paul Muller (Bluff, 0), Stefan Terblanche (Mount Edgecombe, 0), Cath de Souza (Waterfall, 0), Paul Longe (Westville, 0)
Red Jersey: Tessa Hesse (Pietermaritzburg, 4)

Pink Jersey: Taschyana Hurter (Greenpoint, 2)
White Jersey: Sarah Alexander (Newlands, 1), Mario Santana (Cape Town, 0), Kurt Faulmann (Cape Town, 0), Brett Glen (Lakeside, 0)

White Jersey: Asive Dlanjwa (Park West, 0)

White Jersey:
 Stephen King (California, USA)

ROUTE: DAY 1 (2 DECEMBER) 346km:
04h30 Depart Secunda
09h00 Arrive in Standerton
09h30 Depart Standerton
12h30 Arrive in Volksrust
13h00 Depart Volksrust
18h00 Arrive in Ladysmith

ROUTE: DAY 2 (3 DECEMBER) 260km:
04h00 Depart Ladysmith
08h00 Mooi River
08h30 Depart Mooi River
10h30 Hilton
12h00 Polly Shorts
12h30 Depart Polly Shorts
16h00 Arrive in Durban at CMH Nissan


Power partnerships create value for South Africa’s youth through Ride for MRP Foundation

Pictured at the Bike Bean from left to right Ray Whitmore (Build-it, the SPAR Group), Wayne Fyvie (Green Office), Paul Mindry (Hirt and Carter), Greg Alberts (Cyclesphere), Pam Steyn (The SPAR Group) and Stefan Terblanche (SA Rugby Legends).


Power partnerships create value for South Africa’s youth through Ride for MRP Foundation

Share this post

You might also like

Request an invoice